When people think of the Diocese of Michigan, they often think only of Detroit, our largest city, but the Diocese encompasses much more than just one city. The diocese spans the counties of Wayne, Macomb, Oakland, Livingston, Ingham, Jackson, Washtenaw, Hillsdale, Lenawee and Monroe, as well as portions of Shiawassee, Clinton and Genesee Counties. Our congregations are located in Detroit, but also in the capital city of Lansing, the cities of Ann Arbor and Pontiac, as well as the “Downriver” manufacturing communities, suburban metro-Detroit, and the beautiful farmland, rivers, lakes, and countryside that are emblematic of our state. There are 75 congregations in total. Eleven of these congregations are located in Detroit as is the Cathedral Church of Saint Paul and the diocesan administrative offices.

The ethnic composition of these counties is:  71% White, 19% African American, 4% Asian and 4% Hispanic. In Detroit, according to the 2017 Census estimate, the population was 673,104. The 2010 Census indicated the ethnic makeup of Detroit was 80% African American, 14% White and 7% Hispanic. Conversely, in the state of Michigan, the ethnic population is 80% White, 14% African American and 5% Hispanic. For in-depth information on the demographics of our diocese, please review our ExecutiveInsite Report

← History of Our Diocese | Ministries →